KKRN FM, is a volunteer-based, listener-supported radio station fostering positive social change and healthy communities by entertaining, informing and educating through diverse music, culture, news, and public affairs programming.

Featured Jazz Funk Soul A Super Group Trio Composed Of Smooth Jazz Superstars + An Expanded New Releases Page With Lots Of New Music + Billboard’s Top Three Songs

Share Tweet Email

I am temporarily reducing the artist segment in order to allow more time to expand our new releases page to accommodate a plethora of brand new releases that is our good fortune to be experiencing right now. The shortened artist section will concentrate on some of the smooth jazz groups.

This week’s look at artists will focus on the group Jazz Funk Soul. This supergroup of smooth jazz superstars is  composed of keyboardist Jeff Lorber, guitarist Chuck Loeb,and saxophonist Everette Harp. . Formed as a live touring ensemble  in 2013, the trio plays instrumental jazz and R&B built upon the vast career experience of all three members. All musicians each have also had very productive solo careers.  Jazz Funk Soul has been described as a passionate yet laid-back, groove-oriented group that build nicely upon the members' various musical careers and quickly came together and developed into a creatively vibrant unit with a shared vision. Unfortunately guitarist Chuck Loeb as explained in a previous program, passed away in July last year. Replacing him on tour and I presume for future albums is former tonight show and American Idol guitarist Paul Jackson Jr.  I hope you enjoy the music from this outstanding group.

I will play Billboard’s top three songs in smooth jazz this week.

Our expanded segment featuring the absolute latest in smooth jazz, includes brand new 2018 releases from the guitar of Chris Standring’s album Sunlight (released March 23rd), the sax of Vincent Ingala with the title track to a not yet released album Personal Touch (to be released April 27th) (you will hear it here first) the guitar of Adam Hawley’s album Double Vision (released March 23rd), vocalist Lindsey Webster’s brand new album Love Inside (released March 16th), the guitar of Nils from his album Play (released March 16th) and he piano of Dan Siegel from his album Origins (released Jan. 15th).

In the second hour we have Diana Krall, Cindy Bradley, Lee Ritenour, Kirk Whalum, David Benoit with Russ Freeman, Euge Groove with Althea Rene, Doc Powell, Fourplay, Peter White, Fattburger, and Richard Elliot.

This week’s closing song will be my very favorite song from this week’s featured group Jazz Funk Soul.

You must be signed in to post comments.